Today I want to talk about and appreciate dark skin. When I say dark skin, I mean DARK skin, that “dark black” skin. It’s a shame really that people with that gorgeous skin are shamed and looked down upon. I have  genuinely never understand why. Jealousy maybe? I don’t know. Anyway, this is not going to be a post on colourism. This is all about dark skin appreciation. If you are interested in reading a bit about colourism, check out one of my earlier posts here.

To me, there’s something magical about dark skin. That black, velvety skin that reminds one of a moonless night. It’s almost, dare I say, hypnotic? Here five reasons why I find dark skin is absolutely amazing. You can keep the list going in the comments section below.

  1. Flawless. This skin with the extra helping of melanin is usually flawless. F.L.A.W.L.E.S.S. Have you noticed that? I have never seen a person with very dark skin with any acne or pimples or skin issues? Their skin always looks silky and velvety and all shades of delicous. It has this gorgeous natural glow that other skin tones just don’t have.

I think Beyonce was referring to these dark skinned daemons when she sang:

“You wake up, flawless
Post up, flawless
Ride round in it, flawless
Flossin on that, flawless
This diamond, flawless, My diamond, flawless

This rock, flawless
My rock, flawless
I woke up like this
I woke up like this
We flawless, ladies tell ’em
I woke up like this
I woke up like this
We flawless, ladies tell ’em”

 

2. Everything looks better on dark skin. Especially bright colours. The contrast is just a.m.a.z.i.n.g. All colours  blend in well with this rich melanin and give the subject this “out of this world” look. Just look and see what I mean. SEE WHAT I MEAN!!

dark skin

 

3. I love the fact that their skin tone is EVEN. My body is generally lighter than my face and my hands and feet are lighter than my body. How annoying is THAT? I wish eveything was just the same shade!!

 

 

Royalty Baby!

4. There is something regal and majestic about dark, black skin. Something mystical about it. Like you can’t stop staring. You feel like you’re in the presence of royalty of some sort. It’s intimidating somehow. Almost hypnotic. I think that’s part of the reason why some people hate it. They are intimidated.

 

5. Those yummy, dark chocolate men. Their skin tone makes them look even more sensual and delish. That is all. Look and appreciate.

 

So there we have it. Am I the only one who admires this skin tone? Even if I am, it doesn’t take away the fact that it is simply dope! What do you find most appealing about this skin with extra melanated goodness?