Hello everyone 👋🏾. Hope y’all had a good week. Mine was…interesting 😬. So. I’ve been making a concerted effort to watch all the movies and series I have download and saved. Let me tell you. There are A LOT 🤭. I won’t even start on the number of books I’ve bought and haven’t even touched since they left the shop *hides* But that’s a story for another day.

Three Thousand Years of Longing. *Takes a deep breath and sighs* This one has been another disappointment for me. I watched the trailer and thought it was going to be more than it was. Listen. I LOVE Idriss but not even looking at him for over an hour could save this one. If I had to describe this movie in one word, that word would be “bland”. My goodness. I had to literally force myself to watch it till the end, simply because I wanted to write this review for you guys. You’re welcome.

You know it’s bad when you can tell they were trying to go for this “deep” kind of movie and subsequently have all these profound think pieces about the meaning of it all. In my opinion, they completely missed it and ended up with an absolute yawn-fest for one hour and forty eight minutes. What is the movie even about, I hear you ask. Well. From what I gather (lol), it’s about a djinn (genie is the term I believe most of us are familiar with) who has been stuck in a bottle and needs someone to make three genuine wishes so he can be freed. This chick buys his bottle when she’s on a business trip to Turkey, she rubs it whilst washing it and out he comes (surprise surprise). They start having a convo and he tells her about all the times that landed him back in the bottle. She randomly tells him that she wants to love him and him to love her back so they can have a fairy tale relationship. Ummm, what? Lord knows where THAT came from because there was zero indication we were headed in that direction. I know it’s Idriss but come oooon. Anyway, she takes him back to England where they live together in her house but apparently he can’t live in this world for too long because he starts to die so she wishes he’d go back to his world.

Oh! I’ve just remembered that weird little guy at the beginning of the movie and that alien looking dude who was in the audience at one of her lectures. What was the point of all that??? I’m not even going to put a spoilers warning because there’s really nothing to spoil🫠

The only thing this movie got me thinking about is what I would really wish for if I did find a genie to grant me three wishes 🤔. Other than that, I found it boring AF. Half the time I was on IG, TikTok and Twitter. My rating for this is 4.5/10 maybe 5/10.

Here’s hoping the next movie I watch will break this boring movie trend 🤞🏾 Have you watched Three Thousand Years of Longing yet? What did you think about it? Let me know in the comments section below!

Ciao!

Beige Modern Elegant Personal LinkedIn Banner (1)