Hey everyone. How are you all? I hope 2021 is treating you better than 2020 so far😬. Today I want to talk about what is probably my favourite music genre: classical. **Disclaimer. I am NOT an expert on classical music at all. It’s something I’m wanting to rediscover and as you know, I’m a music lover and I listen to and appreciate all sorts of music. My love for classical music though, I think developed in music class when I was in junior school. The very first music teacher I remember was Mrs. or was it Miss Gould. I was probably like 7 or 8 years old. She played a lot of classical and just plain piano for us.  Then in mid-junior school we had Mrs. Darby. She was an old sweetie who taught us about the different composers. After Mrs. Darby we had Ms. Capelluto for the rest of junior school and she continued to feed my love for classical music. I always wanted to learn how to play the piano and to this day I don’t know why I haven’t learnt yet. But I’m a firm believer in it’s never too late for anything and so learning piano is definitely on my “to do” list.

Although I’m a fan of many music genres, there’s just something about classical music. I feel it is more expressive than someone singing using words. It speaks to your soul. It is truly an artform. The same composition can invoke different emotions in different people, the same way different people can have completely different interpretations of the same piece of art. Different musicians give us their different interpretations of the various compositions and it’s really something!

Like I said before, I am by no means a classical music expert. I only know the basics of reading music. I just love the way it sounds and makes me feel. I have come across resources that teach how to read music and understand the language e.g. “Harpsichord Concerto in D Minor BWV 1052: II Adagio” and honestly, I can’t wait to learn. 

I know a lot of people find classical music boring but, today, I implore you just take some time to listen to my little list (preferably with your headphones on so you can really hear all the notes!). You might just find something that you like. I feel weird saying “todays list is going to be mainly as list of my favourite classical tunes” because I feel my knowledge is still so limited for me to have favourites but hey, this is a list of faves from what I know!

Enjoy!

Hans Zimmer – Time (Inception – Live in Prague)

I thought to start with something a bit more lively so y’all don’t fall asleep right off the bat lol. I love this piece of contemporary classical music from Hans Zimmer.

Beethoven – Moonlight Sonata

Even if you’re not a fan of classical, I’m 99% sure you’ve at least heard of Ludwig van Beethoven. Moonlight Sonata is my ABSOLUTE favourite piece of his. Two of his compositions that anyone is likely to recognise are Fur Elise and Ludwig Van Beethoven’s 5th Symphony in C Minor.

Erik Satie – Gnossienne No.1

Erik Satie was a French composer and pianist. 

Before we get to Gymnopedie No.1, I want you to listen to this “remix” of Gnosienne No.1 (the one you’ve just been listening to). I love love love it! I’m really in love with this whole “modernisation” if you will, of original classics. I think it also helps to ease people into listening to classical music, especially those who find it “boring”.

Pascal Rogé – Satie: Gnossienne No.1 (Starkey remix)

Erik Satie – Gymnopédie No.1

 

Subversion of the Sovereign – Secession Studios

I love love this piece. I came across it on YouTube and it’s on the Secession Studios channel. They provide music for movies and trailers etc. so I really have no information on who the composer is exactly. It’s interesting that they’ve dubbed it “betrayal music” because it sounds like exactly that. You can literally picture they moment someone realises they’ve been betrayed, probably by someone they never would have thought would do that to them.

Tchaikovsky – Swan Lake

This is piece is from the ballet of the same name and it reminds me of one of my music teachers, Mrs. Darby (mentioned above). We went through this ballet until it was coming out of our noses and ears😅, but now I absolutely appreciate all she put us through.

Air – Johann Sebastian Bach

This is a widely played piece that I’m sure sounds familiar to a lot of people.

 
 

George Frideric Handel

For some reason this piece makes me think of vampires in 18th century clothing, dancing in a ballroom with humans…before disaster strikes😅

 

Tomaso Albinoni – Adagio in G Minor

I can’t decide if this exquisite piece is melancholy or beautiful. Should it be played at a funeral or a wedding? Mmm…..

Mariage d’Amour – Paul de Senneville

Here’s one from a composer who is still alive! Not sure why many people on YT mislabel this piece as Chopin’s? Well I guess it does sound a bit “Chopin-ish”. (Also, this man has beautiful hands don’t you think?)

HAUSER – Now We Are Free (Gladiator)

The last two pieces are from one of my favourites, Stjepan Hauser, who is cellist from Croatia.

If you’re a fan of the movie Gladiator, this next one will sound familiar to you 🙂 The song was composed by Hans Zimmer (mentioned above). How absolutely orgasmic does this sound?

(Random thought: Look at Hauser. WHY do men have the best eyelashes? Why?)

2CELLOS – Game of Thrones [Live at Sydney Opera House]

Of course, I cannot talk about classical music without including this piece from my favourite TV series ever (even though D & D colossally f*cked up the last season, but that’s a rant for another day). 2Cellos is made up of Stjepan Hauser and Luka Šulić.

That’s it for today! Hope you found something you liked. If you’re a lover of classical music, do let me know what your favourite pieces are in the comments section!

Ciao!